Savvy Lifestyle


Recycle your clothes
March 6, 2008, 11:20 pm
Filed under: design, environmental issues, fashion | Tags: , ,

 CLOSET

Spring is just around the corner which means… time get out all of your cute summer clothes that you love, and put away all those bulky sweaters that you can’t stand the site of for another day!  For me, this is the perfect time to purge out all of those old clothes that I’ve been hanging on to “just in case” but haven’t worn in 3 years.   

Every year I have about a whole trash bag of clothes to get rid of and I never know what to do with them, so I usually just end up bringing them to Good Will.  Don’t get me wrong…this is a great deed as well as a great way to recycle old clothes, but I was thinking of trying something new this year. 

Now that I’ve got my own sewing machine and created a hobby for myself, I’m thinking of using all of my old clothes to create some new and unique things.  I don’t really know what I’m going to make yet, but I’ve been searching online to get some ideas.  Some things that I’m thinking about making are a quilt, hand bags, skirts, etc. 

If you live in NYC,  another great way to recycle your clothing is to simply place it in a recycling bin.  A non-profit organization called Wearable Collections http://wearablecollections.com/ has started placing recycling bins for textiles around the city for weekly pickups.  The clothes are then distributed to charities worldwide.  I think this is a great concept and am a little surprised there’s not something similar in most cities already.

Landfillclothes Bin

If you’re ready to get rid of your old clothes, please don’t add it to our landfills.  If you’re not into making things, there are plenty of organizations around the country that are happy to take them off of your hands.

Kelsey_Vail, CO

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This is great! I am proud to be your first comment and would love to be your first customer when you have Savvy Tools on the market. Good luck to all of you and a big hug to Alison.

Comment by Cheryl Hall

We can take some cues from Nick Graham, the designer for Joe Boxer,who has started a new fashion line called William Good here in SF. It’s completely made from repurposed Goodwill clothing and sells at pretty high prices. See http://www.shopwilliamgood.com if you want to buy some yourself. Or like Kels said, why not do it yourself and save the money. This article about the line is pretty interesting too- http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2007/10/21/LVQ0SQ96N.DTL&hw I didn’t realize even goodwill clothes are tossed in the trash after 30 days on the floor.
-Rebecca

Comment by 5nonblondes

Hi. First time to your blog. Interesting!!! Keep up the good work five-non blondes.

Comment by WaiMin




Leave a Reply

